The Alpine Club, the world’s first mountaineering club, was founded in 1857.  For over 150 years, members have been at the leading edge of worldwide mountaineering development and exploration. 

With membership, experienced and aspiring alpinists benefit from a varied meets programme, regional lectures with notable guest speakers, reduced rates at many alpine huts, opportunity to apply for grants to support expeditions, significant discounts at many UK retailers, extensive networking contacts, access to the AC Library and maps - and more! 

Join Us


Office staff

Office Manager Stephen Grey


Alpine Club Committee for 2019

The Committee is responsible for the management of the Club and its operations.

President John Porter
Vice Presidents Rob Collister, Melanie Windridge
Honorary Secretary Charles Stupart
Honorary Treasurer Trevor Campbell Davis
Honorary Editor of the Alpine Journal Ed Douglas
Honorary Librarian Barbara Grigor-Taylor

Chairs of Sub-Committees

Climbing & Events Nicholas Smith
Finance John Dempster
Marketing, Membership & Recruitment Vacant
Property Victor Saunders
Elective Committee Sherry Macliver, Richard Nadin, Jim Fotheringham
Co-opted Tom Livingstone, Marjan Schoeke, Chris Martin, Nicholas Smith


Additional Officers 

London Lecture Organiser Derek Buckle
South West Lecture Organisers Tony Westcott, Chris Storie
Peak Lecture Organiser Martin Wragg
Lakes Lecture Organiser Anna Lawford
Edinburgh Lecture Organisers Tim Elson, Zoe Strong
North Wales Lecture Organiser Peter Frost
Winter Dinner Convenor William Newsom
Meets Officer Kate Ross
Assistant Meets Officer Vacant
Membership Applications Chair Richard Nadin
Assistant Honorary Secretary Sherry Macliver
Membership Secretary Sherry Macliver
Student Liaison Officer Richard Ive
Climbing Fund Sub-Committee Chair Malcolm Bass
International Panel Chair Malcolm Bass
BMC Liaison Officer Alison Stockwell
UIAA Representative Steve Goodwin
Wired Guidebooks Rep Mike Mortimer
Assistant Editor of the AJ (Obituaries) Rod Smith
AC Newsletter Editor Vacant
IT Sub-Committee Chair David Lund
IT Sub-Committee Secretary Jeremy Gould
Honorary Solicitor Vacant
Honorary Librarian Emeritus Jerry Lovatt
Honorary Archivist Glyn Hughes
Honorary Keeper of the Club’s Artifacts Nigel Buckley
Honorary Keeper of the Club’s Paintings Simon Pierse
Honorary Keeper of the Club’s Photographs Bernie Ingrams
Honorary Keeper of the Club's Monuments Charlie Burbridge

Alpine Club Library

Chairman of the Library Council Philip Meredith
Secretary Nigel Buckley
Book Sales Gordon Turner
Photo Library Bernie Ingrams
Photo Sales Susan Hare
Himalayan Index Sally Russell
Librarian Nigel Buckley